Select Page


The Eggon language derives its name from the hill where a group of people lived before coming down to the plain. The word Eggon refers to that hill which means “a good sense hearing”.

There are over 251,000 speakers of Eggon, who are mainly found in Lafia, Akwanga, Keffi and Nasarawa Eggon local government areas of Nasarawa state in North-Central Nigeria. They also located in Kokona, villages around Doma, Obi, Keana and Wamba. Speakers of the language are called Eggon or Mo Eggon.
Eggon language has twenty-five mutually comprehensible dialects; they include: Eggon Wangibi, Ikka, Wana, Washo, Wakama, Ogne, Angbashu, Alushi, Alogani, Eva, Nabe, Lizzi, Ezzen, Arikpa, etc